Max Richter: SLEEP remixes

Download: 19th February

Vinyl: 4th March

Deutsche Grammophon


Max Richter’s pioneering 8 hour work SLEEP – the composition dubbed a “gigantic lullaby” by the Los Angeles Times was one of 2015’s big commercial and critical success stories.

Within two weeks of their digital release, SLEEP and the one-hour adaptation from SLEEP had topped the iTunes Classical charts around the world, making it the best-selling classical album worldwide in 2015. SLEEP reached the #1 spot in 26 countries, whilst from SLEEP also hit the pop charts in several countries.

SLEEP and from SLEEP made Best Of 2015 lists in Rough Trade, Drowned In Sound, Crack and BBC 6 Music.  Building on this success, a series of SLEEP remixes will be released as an album digitally on 19th February and on vinyl on 4th March.


According to Crack, “Richter operates within a kind of Venn diagram space between alternative popular music and the avant-garde” and this remix project was born out of Max’s passion for and immersion in contemporary sounds, to which he views as of equal cultural importance to the classical world.

Live audiences will get an opportunity to experience from SLEEP – a new shortened piece drawn from the full 8 hour SLEEP – in May 2016, when the Max Richter Ensemble undertake a major UK tour, visiting Bristol, London, Norwich, Manchester and Edinburgh.

The first half will feature a performance of The Blue Notebooks, which Time Out described as “a modern compositional tour de force of almost overwhelming emotional power.”

  • Saturday 14th May             Bristol, Colston Hall
  • Tuesday 17th  May             London, Barbican
  • Thursday 19th  May            Norwich, Norfolk & Norwich Festival
  • Saturday 21st May             Manchester, RNCM
  • Tuesday 24th May              Edinburgh, Usher Hall


  • Sunday 29th May               Dublin National Concert Hall

Tickets available from Friday 27th November at

On Max Richter’s ‘SLEEP’ and ‘from SLEEP’:

  • “BeguilingThe New Yorker
  • “As much about somnolent near-silence as sound, the piece was haunting and beautiful, and yet more evidence, as if it were needed, of the enriching properties of art.” The Independent
  • “Richter has made something so wide and gentle that you think you might be able to live inside it. Exquisite” Pitchfork


    • ‘A modern composer par excellence, without fear and seemingly at the peak of his powers, SLEEP is a richly immersive and moving experience” The Quietus
  • Lush, glacially-paced movements that continually glide in and out of focus like fragments of half- remembered dreams.” Crack


  • “Musically incredible and conceptually spot on. ‘Max Richter is truly a modern day musical genius” The Line of Best Fit

Max Richter says of SLEEP, composed in consultation with US neuroscientist David Eagleman, “This is my personal lullaby for a frenetic world – a manifesto for a slower pace of existence.” At the historic world premiere, he was joined by soprano Grace Davidson plus five string players, playing before an audience who were encouraged to lie on beds and experience the music through a state of sleep. The performance formed the centrepiece of BBC Radio 3’s “Why Music?” weekend, exploring the relationship between music and the subconscious mind.

Hailed as the most influential composer of his generation, Richter creates a sound world that blends a classical training with modern technology, with work including a series of acclaimed solo albums on FatCat and Deutsche Grammophon, concert and ballet music, and scores for award-winning films and TV series, including Waltz with Bashir and HBO’s The Leftovers. SLEEP and from SLEEP are part of his ongoing efforts to draw audiences back into contemporary classical music and regain “a shared communion in sound”.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s